



AMA and COMP co-organized "Masters of Abstraction 2019 – Laureates of Mathematics and Computer Science" Forum



On 18 January 2019, Department of Applied Mathematics (AMA) and Department of Computing (COMP) co-organized *'Masters of Abstraction 2019 – Laureates of Mathematics and Computer Science'* Forum. Partnered with the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF), recipients of the renowned ACM Turing Award, ACM Prize in Computing, Fields Medal and international scholars were brought together at the forum to exchange ideas and discuss "How AI and Big Data are Driving Innovation". Over 200 participants, including representatives from The Education Bureau of HKSAR government, education bodies and secondary students have joined and met the laureates of Mathematics and Computer Science in the forum.

Mathematics provides the foundation for Artificial Intelligence and Big Data. Mathematics laureate Professor Efim Zelmanov who received Fields Medal in 1994 for his work in group theory has shared the recent research findings and advices with the audience in his speech. In the panel discussion, Chair Professor and Head of Department of Applied Mathematics Prof. Xiaojun Chen invited



Prof. Efim Zelmanov







Professor Efim Zelmanov and 3 distinguished guests to share their views on how mathematicians could help on improving AI and Big data to drive innovation.

Distinguished guests of Mathematics panel discussion:

- Prof. Efim Zelmanov, recipient of Fields Medal 1994
- Prof. Dr. Helge Holden, General Secretary of the International Mathematical Union
- Prof. Ngaiming Mok, Edmund and Peggy Tse Professor in Mathematics, Chair of Mathematics of Department of Mathematics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
- Prof. Witman Hung, JP, Graduate of PolyU's Department of Applied Mathematics, Principal Liaison Officer for Hong Kong, Shenzhen Qianhai Authority and the Hong Kong Deputy to 13th National People's Congress

After the Mathematics session, laureates of Computer Sciences have delivered short talks and joined the discussion during the forum to transfer knowledge and exchange ideas with the younger generation:

- Prof. Alexei A. Efros, ACM Prize in Computing 2016
- Prof. Martin Edward Hellman, ACM Turing Award 2015
- Prof. John Edward Hopcroft, ACM Turing Award 1986
- Prof. Joseph Sifakis, ACM Turing Award 2007

---- End -----







